2012 Catalysts of the Year

We previously announced the Catalysts of the Year award, and we are now ready for our inaugural announcement!

As a reminder, the Catalyst of the Year award is given in recognition to volunteers that have volunteered at every minne✱ event for a given year. Volunteers are recognized at the final event of the year.

On this first year of the award there is just one volunteer that was behind the scenes at every event of the year…

Alex Ryan

Alex has worked tirelessly this year to make sure that minne✱ events went off without a hitch. Adrienne Peirce Greenlee said it best:

Alex volunteered at every event this year, as well as basically single-handedly planned the wonderfully successful MinneBBQ in August.  She is routinely the first and last person at an event, her dedication is much appreciated here at minne✱!

Alex’s efforts to catalyze the community have been huge this year and we hope to benefit from her energy and talents going forward! A huge Thank You from all!


minne✱ Catalysts of the Year

As minnebar, minnedemo and minnebbq have continued to grow and become more complex events it takes a larger and larger group of people to make the events happen. minne✱ is a scrappy non-profit and has no paid staff members. We simply could not make our events happen at the scale and frequency that they happen now without a wonderful, awesome, amazing community of volunteers. Every event in 2012 was supported by an army of volunteers making sure that everything went smoothly. We all see their contributions, and we want to recognize our volunteers as well.

Starting in 2012 we are creating a Catalysts of the Year award. minne✱ founders have long referred to themselves as Community Catalysts. The mission of our organization is to help catalyze the tech community in Minnesota. The volunteers are a huge catalysts themselves! We have created the Catalyst of the Year designation to recognize volunteers that have helped make every event for a year happen. 2012 is the first year we are doing this, and we will continue to do it going forward.

Stay tuned to find out who will be listed as a Catalyst of the Year for 2012!